1980’s Popcorn

Phil: What’s your favorite film from the 80’s?

We’re putting something together that would benefit from a few old film references so I posed this question to my Facebook friends. They came up with the following suggestions:

Beetlejuice
The Shining
Bladerunner
The Breakfast club
Flight of the Navigator
Back to the future
Brazil
ET

I think this probably says more about the sort of people who are likely to want to be my friend than anything. Where else would Brazil get two votes ? The Shining – I think I’ll have to be careful next time I meet at least one friend in the future. Bladerunner makes it in as well but presumably not the version with the unicorn voiceover at the end. Both are excellent films but pretty useless for our purposes as we want some subtle references for a story. References that ordinary people are going to get.

Anyway, what this makes me realise is that despite being a teenager in the 1980’s, I actually remember very little that is of any use. Maybe if I was looking for TV references we’d be in safer territory. I mean we have the Gold Blend Couple, Capital City, Miami Vice (the best of Jan Hammer is on my iPod), Hong Kong Phooey (Panriffic !), Knight Rider, Roobarb and Custard (I can still play the theme tune to this on a kazoo) and The Tripods, to name a few that spring to mind. I nearly said Gladiators too but according to Wikipedia that was 1992 so it goes under “TV that should have been in the 1980s”, pity, it has a great catchphrase.

Referencing films in books needs to be carried out without ramming it down the readers throat so the choice needs more care that you might think. Back to the Future ought to be good, chuck in a character called Marty, or even have the band McFly playing in the background on a radio and it works. Was there a catch phrase though ? Not that I remember. In fact the only phrases I do recall from the period are “Luke, I am your father” from The Empire Strikes Back and “Phone Home” from ET.

So, more help please dear reader. What was your favorite film released between 1980 and 1990 ? Answers in the comments please and in a few days, you’ll find out why we wanted to know. If they are good, I might even let you have my last Rolo.

2 Comments

Filed under Phil, Writing

2 responses to “1980’s Popcorn

  1. For what it’s worth, here’s mine:-
    80’s: Raging Bull/Stand By Me/The Shining/The King of Comedy/Blood Simple
    90’s: 6th Sense/Dances With Wolves/The Matrix/Being John Malkavich/The Insider.

    Ley

  2. Me

    The Princess bride. Undoubtedly!

Leave a Reply

