Oh what shall I wear?

Cheese on the left, chalk on the right.Candice:  As my writing partner has pointed out, he’s not really a christmas party man. However, I like some shape throwing and love the concept of Christmas, so I’m kinda in my element.  (Do the expressions “chalk and cheese” come to mind – though I think it’s the contrast with having the same stupid sense of humour that makes the writing work).

Anyway, a key part of the whole process is the outfit.  Every year I say to myself, I’ll just get one of my old numbers out and that will be fine.

But as the day approaches I realise I’m bored out of my mind with that dress I wore twice last year, so have to have something new.

Where I am working at the moment, the shopping is poor.  This leads to mad sessions on the internet when I get home, ordering stuff from websites.  The other half has been at home so he’s chief receiver of my many parcels (to the point I got a, “You’ve ordered alot of new clothes recently” to which I sweetly replied, “But they’ve mostly gone back.” Flutter eyelashes)  Debenhams sent me five different dresses in three different parcels for a mad trying on session the night before the event.

I’m not alone in this though.  We went to a ball on Thursday and I had panicked call from the sister, saying can I come around to assess her new purchases as she’d had a last minute internet moment too.  Lucky Debenhams is all I can say!

So I might like the whole party concept but the reality it is just as stressful for me, in a whole different way.

Don’t even get me on shoes and accessories.

Ah well, at least this year I came up with a corker.  Though my facebook photos are going to look abit samie as I’m going to three events, all with different people, so I can reasonably wear it to all three.  Or maybe not…..  asos where are you!

1 Comment

Filed under Candice, fashion, Writing

One response to “Oh what shall I wear?

  1. Sneaky, and not a bad plan. Would work especially well if the rest of the people at the event are drunk and thus can be persuaded that you really were wearing that outfit and not the one they think you wore.

    However, it’s a slippery slope from Photoshopping yourself to doing other people then sticking the pictures up in a bare walled room lit only by a single lightbulb hanging from a tatty wire. Maybe the only sound is a distant dripping tap and the little voice inside my head crying in long suppressed pain…

    Sorry. Yes Neil. An excellent idea.

Leave a Reply

