What keeps you writing ?

Candice: After one of Phil and my customary catch ups this week he posed a question that has made me think a lot.
Now it’s back to paid work times post Xmas break Phil and I return to a weekly chin wag in the most bizarre of venues: an airfield cafe. Why there, you cry, rather than the usual costa coffee type venue ? Well it’s about equidistant from Phil’s place and my current work venue. We tried the pub nearer work but found out that by not being related to the locals we were frowned up. Abit further up the road was a garden centre but the range of options was poor, so the airfield cafe it is.
What they think of us there has always made me wonder. We come once a week without fail. I’ve got my work clothes on, Phil his famous sensible shoes. And we talk intently for 3/4 hr before I look at the big clock on the wall and say, “Must dash.”
Anyway, the question was posed just as we were standing in the car park, about to whizz back to work.
“Why are we so passionate about this?”
Phil had been surprised by my post as he had not realised I was finding our feedback so personal. However, he also began to realise how passionate I am about the whole writing concept.
Why? Well, I have this drive to want more out of life than just going to work, coming home, watching TV, you know, the usual day to day. I’ve always had it, and its probably one of the reasons I struggle to settle into a job, because its exactly that, settling into a job. I don’t want to resign myself to being a cog in a very big wheel, I want to make a mark.
So, I see the book as my way of leaving something behind. I’m also proud of the achievement of putting 80,000 words down in print, whether or not they are any good. When people find out I’ve written a book then they are always surprised and impressed.
So, really I need to go on the X Factor but I can’t really sing and hate ballads!
2012 is all about honing our craft and then really being able to make that mark. I just read in the paper about a GP from Hall Green who’s managed it – so why not us.

Ps this is written on my iPad using the word press ap. It’s not great, the ap that is, but it does mean I can keep things up to date from my sick bed, where I am currently lying full of cold!

3 Comments

Filed under Candice

3 responses to “What keeps you writing ?

  1. ’tis true. Like Candice, I’ve always seen work as one of the things I do, not all of my life. Maybe it’s because I’ve tended towards jobs where I produce something that has a shart life span such as a web page, or maybe I just can’t settle down to one single thing.

    It does have the advantage that if work lets you down with redundancy or just a really crap day, then you don’t take it as hard as those for whom it is the very definition of life itself. I like to think it also makes me more efficiant. Since I want to do other stuff, I get my work done as fast as possible. Not for me the sitting in the office for hundreds of unpaid hours kidding myself that this isn’t just about filling an empty life.

    In the end, we both really care about the writing and especially our book. We beleive that the story is good. Maybe the words need a bit of reorganisation, maybe some editing and tweaking is required, but the story is fantastic. Even if it goes no futher, I’m incredibly proud of getting this far and determined to take it to the next stage. Something a lot easier to do with the aid of my fantastic (if snotty) co-author.

  2. Well done to you both. It’s better to have more than one arrow in your quiver…or more than one cake in the tin…. or more than one corkscrew in the gite…

  3. Pingback: How to win X Factor | nolanparker

Leave a Reply

