Jealous, moi ?

Candice: As you will have seen from Phil’s post, he has finally made it to the big time. Yes, he is a fully published author. How do I know this? Well the other half and I were in Sainsbury’s on Thursday doing the weekly shop. We don’t normally shop there but once in a while one fancies a change, different order of aisles, different products on sale. Oh how boring life becomes as you get older … Anyway, I was wandering around the Gok Wan clothing when a voice says, “Look at this, is this Phil’s?”
I turn round to see some thick magazine being waved at me with PARKER’s GUIDE shouting from the cover.  I replied, “No, it’s just that car thingy.” And proceeded to go back to working out if I needed another pair of burgundy jeans.

Rich continued to flick through and then another call comes across the clothing aisle, “It is his, you know.”  So I dashed back to see young Phil’s face staring out from the inside cover, new glasses and all.  So, yes Philip has really made it – into the magazine section in Sainsbury’s!

However, next time I was in ‘Smith’s I checked out that section, pushing past two bearded men in anoraks who were discussing the ins and outs of the internal combustion engine to find another copy! They did look at me as if I were odd, a bit like when Rich and I visited Phil’s train show the other year, but I wanted to wave it under their nose and say, “This is my mate’s, buy it now!”

So, after all this I’ve not been speaking to him for over a week ’cause I can’t take the:

a. Gloating

b. Smug smile

c. Proffered signed copies

d. General look of a published author

Seriously, I’ve actually be really busy but I think he thinks I’ve fallen out with him…

However, I got my own back on Saturday when I appeared in Casualty.  ‘sticks hand up to nose and waves’   Nur Nur!

Leave a comment

Filed under Candice, Publishing, Writing

Leave a Reply

