Dreaming for ideas

Candice: I’ve been dreaming a lot recently.  I’m a regular dreamer, but when I’ve got things on my plate: work, house sale etc my mind goes a bit mad and creates lots of exciting scenarios when I sleep, often to my detriment as I don’t get a good night’s sleep.

Anyway, over the weekend I had such a vivid dream that it woke me up at 3am with a start.  It was scary in some way, as in that time between being half asleep and fully awake I was lying there thinking I can’t move, ‘It’ will get me. After I fell asleep again I had another totally different dream.  However, the frustration in this is that I can’t remember either of them very well, and I am sure they were really good source material for stories.  Damn!

I have read that people who are creative have pads or dictaphones by their bed, so when they wake up like this they can scribble it down or record it and then go back to sleep safe in the knowledge that they have another corker for the writing pot.  However, I don’t think I could do that as I like my sleep and need a solid eight hours to make me feel like I’ve had a good night’s sleep.  Actually fully waking up to write something down would just mean I’d struggle to go back to sleep and when you have to get up for work in the morning that doesn’t help!

Phil and I have a writing session planned for today, and I am adamant that there will be tea and cake, but there will also be writing.  We were going to work in the local library but it’s shut for a refurb so we are now meeting in a hotel reception and pretending to have a business meeting so we can scribble away. I’m going to try to bring back the memory of one of these dreams, or the others I have been having recently, and see if I can capture it.

If you see two people with laptops, iPods and pots of tea next to them next time you go to a hotel reception, you’ll know who it is.  Just don’t tell them we are blagging their electricity and WIFI in return for a quiet space!

5 Comments

Filed under Candice, Writing

5 responses to “Dreaming for ideas

  1. Great post….nice thinking about dreaming…..my self every night dreaming some ideas…about writing and future…

  2. Thanks Cyril, I am thinking one of these dreams is probably Phil and I outside of Waterstones with newly minted book in hand !

  3. Same here but I do have a notebook beside the bed. Last week I started a new painting but couldn’t work out the correct sequence to get to the result I wanted but it came to me whilst asleep-problem solved! As I am now “retired” I can sleep for as long as I like (apart from the wife’s foot gently suggesting I make a cuppa and let the dogs out and feed the cats) so can wake a 4am, jot down the thoughts and pop back to bed. Same of the dreams I have I definitely wouldn’t want to share!

  4. I would just like to point out that the writing session took place. There was tea BUT NO CAKE. Next time…

  5. yes but I offered cake and you said no!

Leave a Reply

