Fifty shades of Grey – Again

 

Candice:  No I am not obsessed with this book but I noted in today’s press that the two main cast members have been announced.

I have to say I haven’t heard of either of them.  “Britain’s Charlie Hunnam and US actress Dakota Johnson have landed the coveted lead roles in the big-screen version of erotic bestseller Fifty Shades of Grey.” to quote the BBC.   It’s nice to see a brit in there but they aren’t setting me on fire.  But then, should they as it’s probably better if it isnt Brad Pitt and Angelina Jolie as they would take over the film.  Not that I am going to see it, the book was so bad I don’t think I could watch 2 hrs of people dry humping each other with not alot of dialogue and plot. One thing that did make me think about going was the fact it is to be directed by Sam Taylor-Johnson, artist and director of ‘Nowhere Boy’, a film I did enjoy.

Phil and I have discussed before who would play the characters in our book if it were made into a film.  I actually think I would probably go for someone not so famous so they didn’t distract from the plot, but maybe the odd famous cameo in there.  I’ve just seen a trailor for new TV programme on BBC Two called ‘The Wipers’ – the content wasnt was interested me but the fact they threw in some famous faces in the middle of the main cast.  My favourite man (TM) Michael Palin was in there.  I’ve set the TIVO for it just because of him.

These days it’s all about who can ‘open’ a film which isn’t really fair on all those budding actors who can’t break into the world of acting. But we all want what we know.  But I think if you can throw in some things people are comfortable with they will accept other unknowns.  The same goes for books, as long as we have some reference to another author that we like – ‘in the style of Marian Keyes‘ then we might pick up something we don’t know.

Perhaps I should shoe horn a role for Michael Palin into the book, one so I can meet him again, and two so it might get the book and therefore film off the ground!

 

2 Comments

Filed under Writing

2 responses to “Fifty shades of Grey – Again

  1. Chris Mead

    Will they film it in colour?

  2. Tee hee! I’m not you can see fifty shades of grey on a cinema screen.

Leave a Reply

