Blank

Phil: My mind is blank.

Twice a week we endeavour to post interesting and amusing content for your delectation and entertainment. I know the idea is that we write about how progress is being made bringing our book to market but that’s a bit stalled at the moment so I haven’t got a lot to say. Maybe in a couple of weeks when we’re both in the same country this will change but for the moment one of us is on holiday and the other is looking at a couple of flatplans with his name on them so really needs to think about some work.

My blankness isn’t being helped by my own actions. On the radio is some comedy and I’m half listening to that and the creative bit of my head is therefore occupied. I am a man, I can’t multitask.

I’m also drinking Diet Coke. To be truly creative, science has shown that we should drink alcohol. This sets the brain spinning, at which point you need coffee to provide the power to turn those great thoughts into something productive.

Perhaps I should reveal some exciting snippets of NolanParker history. Such as the time we shared a desk. Well, not exactly share, more I took it over but Candice hadn’t really vacated it so I enjoyed a few weeks unable to store all my stuff as there were lady products in there. Specifically, a pair of leopard print shoes with a kitten heel. Some things you just don’t want people to think are yours. I couldn’t even try them on as they weren’t my size.

That’s not very exciting either. Still, we’ve learnt something today. If you want to be creative, drink a lot and listen to loud music. I’ll try to remember this for next time. Sorry.

5 Comments

Filed under Phil, Writing

5 responses to “Blank

  1. The old creative blank wall rears it’s ugly head.

  2. Deadlines can be quite motivating. Or, writing something completely and utterly different that you never wanted to write. Just to see how it goes. Just for.. dare I say it… fun. You can always recycle the characters later into something else.

    • Well, it has already given me an idea what I’m going to blog next. Sometimes I just start typing and good stuff comes out. Sometimes not. The important thing is to… Read my next post!

  3. Pingback: Blogging the dream alive | nolanparker

Leave a Reply

