Disposable books

2booksPhil: Next week I’m going to be enduring a long, and hopefully boring*, flight. To pass the time I realised I needed some reading material.

This should be a fantastic opportunity to grab a book I’ve always wanted to read and have a proper wallow within the pages. To me there is something wonderfully decadent about reading a book in one sitting. It’s as though I really ought to be doing something useful, like curing terrible disease or composing a grand concerto or washing up, but instead I’ve chosen to lounge around and read – an activity that has no better outcome than enjoyment.

Sadly, there is nothing sitting in the “to read” pile that fits the bill. If I wanted to read it and I own it, it’s been read. I’ve had a bit of a stressful time recently and dipping in to a story helps take my mind off things for a few minutes.

The other problem is that while I plan to take the books on the aeroplane, I don’t have any intention of lugging them around with me or bringing them back home. Thus they have to be “disposable”. Obviously I’ll be aiming to drop them off somewhere where another reader can enjoy them but if that fails, it’s paper recycling time.

Searching charity shops has unearthed a couple of possibles. World War Z by Max Brooks has been on my list to read for a while, since someone at work read it and I was fascinated by the idea of a zombie war thing. Presumably the recent (and apparently not very good) film has seen a re-print making this relatively rare book available on the second-hand market.  It’s certainly the first time I’ve seen it on the shelf.

The other, The Excursion Train by Edward Marston is more of a leap into the unknown. OK, I picked it because there is a steam train on the cover and a whodunnit is perfect for a single sitting reading as I might remember what is going on when I reach the end.

I’m sure neither author wanted envisaged their words being read in quite this way but then we all choose books for different reasons. I’ll let you know how I get on.

*Boring flights are good. No-one on a passenger plane wants an exciting trip in the same way we prefer uninteresting trips to the dentist.

Leave a comment

Filed under Books, Phil

Leave a Reply

