Ten top tips on Writing

Wedding NightCandice: For the blog we’ve interviewed a few writers and found a few relevant articles to help with the writing process.

This week I’ve found one from Sophia Kinsella, of the ‘Shopaholic‘ fame.  I have to admit I am not a great fan of her books. I’ve read a few but found the many character quite annoying, but I thought there were some good points in here.

I won’t list all the ten – you can read them yourself here but there are a couple which I thought were particular salient as Phil and I have decided to have a book two brain storming session in a week or so.

Carry a notebook – this is one I’ve thought about doing before as, as soon as we had a discussion the other week about book two ideas started popping into our head.  Luckily they are still there now, but one bought of baby brain and they may be gone at any moment.

Just get to the end – not such a hard thing for us as there is always someone else to drive you on but you do hit a wall occasionally.  Just keep plugging away until you get there and then you can rehash what you have written.

Walk and drink cocktails – I can definitely support the second half of this statement, whether it has anything to do with writing is another thing…!

This one I’m not so keen on though – Get a great Agent.  Well we’d all love one of those thanks but we can’t all have one.

Enjoy and let us know what you think.

3 Comments

Filed under Writing

3 responses to “Ten top tips on Writing

  1. I guess every author’s journey differ from each other. What might work for one, may not work for the next. You just have to find your own style on that journey 🙂

  2. Yes, you need to get that first draft down. And what I’ve learnt is don’t spend too much time on it, because either way it’s going to need some pretty heavy editing and a lot of what I write first round is Harshly reworked or dropped entirely. Good luck!

  3. Yes, we’ve rewritten and rewritten our book now over the years since its been written and it gets better every time. I think the first one much always be the hardest as you dont know what you dont know but when we get to number two we are already talking about a plan rather than just throwing chapters around.

Leave a Reply

