Book vs Film – Fight!

Candice: Phil and I had an off-line conversation after his last post about ‘World War Z‘ as I had written a post about it awhile ago when I saw the film. Apparently book trumps film in this world.

Now, as an author I should really agree on this as I think reading is great for many reasons.  It uses the brain, it helps you develop your own world and makes you creative, it is a great way to occupy the time.  However, sometimes its just nice to disappear into some real trash of a film and switch the mind off.

Saturday night I was home alone so watched ‘RED’.  It was a piece of terrible rubbish based on a DC comics idea of old CIA Agents coming back from retirement.  Starring Bruce Willis and Helen Mirren it went from predictable scene to predictable scene for 2 hours.  However, I loved it, mainly because I like those actors and partly because I was tired and needed to wind down.  If I’d been reading a book I would have managed 20 minutes and then ended up falling asleep.

But, on my bedside table I have a thriller  I’m working my through.  It’s by Linwood Barclay and the story is of a guy whose wife is killed in a car accident and after her death lots of things come out that don’t seem to reflect what he knew of her.  I’m only half way through as I only manage that 20 mins before bed but its good and I want to read more to know how it finishes.  But part of me likes the fact it is going to take me awhile to get to the end, rather than having it all in one hit like watching a movie.

I’m hoping to go to the cinema this week as I haven’t been for ages.  That is my ultimate film watching experience, as you can’t beat sitting in a darkened room with a big screen.  My ultimate reading venue; a sun lounger by the sea (with a cocktail!)

So, what do you think – book or film?

1 Comment

Filed under Candice, Writing

One response to “Book vs Film – Fight!

  1. This is a very interesting topic! I am just starting to explore it on my blog 🙂

Leave a Reply

