It’s CHRISTMAS!

Candice: Yes it’s almost that time of year again, where people start to put on silly hats and jumpers, hand out cards and then get stupidly pissed with their work colleagues.

I’ve had my first round of Christmas parties today with my new department’s Christmas Lunch.  It was a more subdued affair with some nice chat round a table for the seven of us, a small glass of wine and then all disappearing off to our respective homes (with a quick drop into House of Fraser for me)

Friday night is the big shindig, with a black and gold theme and an opportunity for people to get absolutely hammered with drinking games (according to Dave who I sat opposite on Friday).  He was suggesting I joined in, but my current 7am wake up calls plus terrible hangovers didn’t really make me feel that his table would be where I was on Friday.

Christmas parties are great ice breakers for someone new to a company I’ve found over the years.  Or a way to find a whole new group of useful people over the punch, ‘Ah you work in legal do you?’  That’s why when I wanted to create a big final scene in our book, I made it the work’s Christmas Party.  It opens with something that I can still picture, even though I wrote it 3 years ago.  Imagine, smoke wafting across the scene and four people back-lit as they walk forward, like super heroes coming out of the fog – well that’s how our KOD chums enter the HIA Christmas party.  It all goes down hill from there considering they’ve just spent the last few months closing the company down.

We spent some time with our publishers on Saturday and one of the things they want us to prune is a part of this big scene, but Phil and I were reluctant.  However, on explanation we now think we can see why, and are going to have a go at cutting some of the fat from it, to make it a lean, mean, fighting machine!

Now I just need to work out what I am going to wear on Friday… sorry Phil no writing until after that!

Leave a comment

Filed under Writing

Leave a Reply

