Me before you by JoJo Moyes

Front CoverCandice: When Phil and I met up the other week he gave me two books to read.  One is the follow up to a book I started and didn’t finish, he said I should give it a go. That one is still on my bedside table.  The other was ‘Me before you’ by JoJo Moyes. He did warn me before I read it that it might get me into trouble, and reading the back of it I could see what he meant.

So, I had a long train journey to Leeds ahead of me later that week so I thought I’d crack the book open to occupy the time.  Well 2hrs there and 2hrs back and I’d read over 200 pages.  By the end of the weekend the book was finished.

I think I liked it.

The premise of the book is a young woman who is just breezing through her life without much purpose.  She has a comfortable job in the small town coffee shop, a comfortable long-standing boyfriend and nothing to really challenge her. Then she loses her job and falls into one looking after a quadriplegic man.  Will Taynor was your typical high-flying city type until he was more concerned with his blackberry than crossing the road.  A motorbike changes all that and Will ends up paralysed from the neck down.

The interaction with Will and Louisa could be corny and predictable, and even though the romantic outcome is exactly as you would expect, the book kept me involved.  I wanted to know how Louisa got into Will’s heart, I wanted to know he survived when he got pneumonia.  I can’t tell you why this book hooked me as much as it did but I couldn’t put it down.

In fact, I knew the big ending was coming and I left the last 20 pages when my eyes were drooping on Saturday night and finished it in bed on Sunday morning.  The other half didn’t spot me sniffing and the tears rolling down my cheeks at the time.

Checking out the book on the internet I find out that it is being made into a film (predictably) and that a sequel is coming, how that can be considering the story line I don’t know.

I won’t give any more of the story away but well done JoJo you really wrote something that got me hooked.

1 Comment

Filed under Books, Candice, Writing

One response to “Me before you by JoJo Moyes

  1. and can I just add I’ve met Sam Claflin who is starring in the film – he let me have the last pudding when filming ‘The Quiet Ones’ – nice guy

Leave a Reply

