By sheer force of will

Henley LunchCandice: People (women mainly, to be honest) often ask me ‘how do you fit it all in?’

By that they mean: working full time, training for a half marathon, writing a blog and a book, etc etc.

My answer is ‘Its a balancing act’. Well, that’s the diplomatic answer to be honest its mainly by sheer force of will!

I’m running my post baby half marathon on Sunday. I was supposed to be running it last October, it was all part of my post Erin recovery plan: have baby, train for half marathon, get back to work. However, after a slow start due to a C Section and then my early return to work, I was starting to get in to the training.

Then I fell over. Short slip up, I thought, but oh no, they found I’d fractured a bone in my leg and all running went out the window. So I picked myself up, literally, and started again in January.

This time though its been another battle: cold weather, sports massages for dodgy quad muscles, chiropractor sessions for misalignment, flu and then this last weekend a bought of stomach bug which meant my last big run went out the window. Add to that the usual issues of new job, more travelling and balancing the child care then even just fitting in all the runs has been hard work. A lot of people would have given up and called it quits.

Then Phil and I decide to ramp it up and write another book.

Now this, more than the running at the moment, is light relief from the day to day, but just trying to fit that in is hard work. Once baby has gone to bed and you have tided up, all you want to do is collapse on the sofa. But then you have all these ideas buzzing around your head which you need to get down on paper.

Phil and I enjoyed a catch up over tea and cakes yesterday in the picturesque town of Henley in Arden, local to both of us. Ideas where discussed, plans drawn up and freckles gained in the lovely sunshine. But in the back of the mind there is always more to do to keep the house ticking over.

So why do I do it?

I could just ditch the book, the running or both and just get on with being a working mom.

Well, sometimes I wish it was that easy. But I can’t. If I don’t exercise I feel stodgy and loose my motivation in other areas (I had to do a turn round the block after the chocolate tiffin and apple strudel we shared) and the book is just something that excites me. Without those things I’d wouldn’t feel like I real existed.

The down side, always chasing my tail and feeling a bit frazzled.

Well at least, to quote Daisy Waugh’s book ‘I don’t know why she does it’, I’m not up to midnight baking cakes for class too as that would just be a step too far.

5 Comments

Filed under Candice, Writing

5 responses to “By sheer force of will

  1. I’m not sure if I love or hate you after that. Either way, you’re an inspiration! ^_^

    • Why thank you! I do like to make the most out of life but sometimes you have to learn to have down time too πŸ™‚ I’m taking note from the event of last night which said ‘concentrate on one thing and do it well’ so i’m going to keep up the exercise but not the big events until we’ve done more of book two.

  2. Some thoughts – do it now as you may not be able to later, always give a job to a busy person, do it before you get old, etc. We are selling our house here and downsizing from the house/barn/6 hectares of land, gite holidays, chambre d’hote, painting paintings, painting courses (and a couple of writing courses) plus helping other people renovate their houses. Danger!! Approaching 70!! We realised we must DO SOMETHING when we haven’t even got to the Pyrenees this year and the snow is disapearing fast, I haven’t started that model railway yet and 12 shutters need painting as does the kitchen plus the pool needs cleaning! We are back in the UK next week to see 4 children and 8 grandchildren then back here and off to Madrid to see new grandchild. At least I get time to read a book on the plane.

  3. I admire your dedication – the most I ever did was a 5K and I stopped running years ago. I felt like something that was so hard on my joints couldn’t really be “good” for me. Now I walk and do yoga and ballroom dancing. So far, I haven’t broken anything doing them!

  4. Pingback: You can’t say no to the Nolan | nolanparker

Leave a Reply

