It’s a numbers game

Candice: Phil got very excited the other day.  He sent me over some new words and a new total – 25,000.  Now we’ve obviously set ourselves a target of the first draft of the book  by the end of June.  This was always optimistic but we both need a deadline else we’d just swim around for ages with lots of ideas (that’s not an area we have an issue with) but not actually put pen to paper and still be talking about writing book 2 now.  The thought of the first book being out there soon (we hope) is also a great motivator.  FYI – if you want to find out more about online publishing with some great help see Dandylion Publishing.

So I had chance to read through his new words the other day, all together now in one document so we can easily see we have a story on the way.  But I finished it and went, hang on a minute, there is more than this.  I mentioned to Phil and he’d got so excited when the word count got to 25,000 he’d not actually checked if there was more.  I told him to stop short changing us.

Checking back on everything in our drop box I estimate there are an additional 1,500 words in there.  Not much but enough to push us closer to 30,000.

So why I am I so obsessed with numbers.  Well I’m not really, the book will be finished when it is finished, and I think this one is going to be longer than 80,000 as we have a much better plan and structure than last time.  But having that number attached to it makes you feel much better. We’ve written nearly a third of it, and we are within touching distance of 40,000. ie half way.

So, as I do like these deadlines I’m going to pitch for 40,000 words by the end of June.  I’m away for a week during that time so I can have a go at writing in between sessions on the sun lounger/chasing toddler around.

Are you up for it Phil?

1 Comment

Filed under Writing

One response to “It’s a numbers game

  1. Pingback: You can’t say no to the Nolan | nolanparker

Leave a Reply

