New Year’s Resolutions…?

Candice: I am writing this post much later than planned on the night of the 4th January as today has been busy.  It’s my daughter’s second birthday today, a day of running around taking her to the local Butterfly farm and to see the grand parents as well as trying to catch up before returning to work tomorrow.

I’ve not been off over the whole Christmas period, I did one day in the office, however that was nearly a week ago so the whole thought of working seems like a long way away. I’ve been making sure that my pass and work bag is ready to go in the morning as groggy will not describe how I feel!

So, I’m a bit late on the resolutions discussions but it’s probably because I’ve never really bothered with them.  I don’t see the point of setting yourself up for something that you are unlikely to achieve especially when this is not a good time of year to do anything new anyway – its too dark and cold.   I’ll be doing my usual of fighting off the new people at the gym for the next few weeks as they all decide to get fit and loose that extra weight.  Well I can tell you it takes more than a few combat classes, even with all the exercise I do I could always do to loose a few pounds.

  • Dry January – not worth it, I don’t drink enough
  • Lay off chocolate – likelihood of this happening close to nil
  • Go to the gym – already do it
  • Achieve something special – did I mentioned our book was published in December?

So, I set my self goals across the year to keep having something to aim for.  I have decided I need a fitness goal for the next few months as I need that extra push, but am not sure it is going to be a half marathon this year. The thing is I can’t find anything shorter, but longer than a 10km.  Book – well I managed to squeeze in 2000 words over christmas so we have hit the 50,000 mark.  That means expanding what we have and a few more holes to be filled and we will be there.  Deadline – summer holiday books.

And what else?  More me time I think.  I’m not sure how with an adventurous two year old but for both of us we need some space so we need to find a way to achieve it.

How about you, readers?

Leave a comment

Filed under Candice, Writing

Leave a Reply

