I need some fun

Candice: This weekend has been another round of madness in the Nolan house.

We went to a first birthday party on Saturday and then the other half was sorting the redecorating of a bedroom for most Sunday so I was in charge of entertainment.

While someone was napping Sunday afternoon I enjoyed some quality me time in the sun (yes Spring seems to have finally appeared) reading the paper.

But when it gets to Sunday night I am frustrated, as yet again it is another weekend where I haven’t done anything as an adult.

What didn’t help was the fact my sister was off for a week abroad with the other half and my hubby had been out on the razzle on Friday night.

So I’ve decided its time for some fun.  The change in the weather is also driving my need for something that involves drinking and dancing, as the lighter evenings mean I don’t feel so tired.  Its time for some Prosecco on the Patio!

So I’ve texted some of my girlie mates about a night out.  Since most of us have become parents we seem to have lost the ability to want to go out and just let our hair down. Girls only means that we don’t have to find babysitters so that’s not an issue, but money and generally feeling tired is.

So far I haven’t had much response but I am counting my chickens that someone will take up the gauntlet and get me out of my funk.

Ginger CakeWhen Phil and I met for lunch today we were also discussing feeling a bit down about things. We both admitted to loosing our writing mojo as the book hasn’t taken off quite as we wanted and we are feeling the ‘what is the point of writing book two’.  I am sure that this comes to us all, as having an audience for your work motivates you to write more.  Having some appreciation makes it all worth while.

But I think we have managed to lift ourselves with some plans for marketing and taking time to write.  We also have Stratford Literary Festival looming and need to prepare our spiel.

So with some cake in our bellies we set off into the bright sunshine with some new hope.

Leave a comment

Filed under Candice, Writing

Leave a Reply

